Just another WordPress.com weblog

Microsoft airs new ‘I’m a PC’ ads

microsoft_pc_ad.jpg

As mentioned earlier, Microsoft is changing gears a bit with their TV ads that use Apple’s ads as a staring-off point and introducing their own “I’m a PC” themed ads.

When I first heard about the new direction I had mixed feelings. I hated the previous two ads with Jerry Seinfeld and Bill Gates so the fact that something different was coming sounded like a good idea, but when the New York Times reported that the new ads would open with a John Hodgman-like Microsoft engineer saying “Hello, I’m a PC, and I’ve been made into a stereotype” my expectations fell.

Last night I happened to catch the first of the new ads on TV the Times was right–it did open with that line–but then went in the direction of showing people from all walks of life (teachers, doctors, engineers, actors, astronauts, etc.) telling briefly what they do with their PC’s to remind people that Windows isn’t just for spreadsheets and viruses.

I would rate the ads as better than expected. I like the new direction much more than that of the Seinfeld and Gates ads. The new ones are actually enjoyable and about something (imagine that). Good ads for a little perspective.

Check the main aid and a couple shorter versions of it below if you’re interested:

[Via Electronista]

Comments are closed.