Just another WordPress.com weblog

Dumbest iPhone app – are they serious?

i_am_rich_itunes.jpg

The App Store is full of some really wonderful applications, most of which are very reasonably priced.

Then there’s “I Am Rich”.

It’s a blank black screen with red glowing gem in the middle and it doesn’t do anything. Seriously. The description even says that “it’s a work of art with no hidden function at all.”

Free? No.

99-cents? No.

$999.99 US.

I understand that it’s pretty easy to get a free application into the App Store but I thought that Apple was going to be doing some screening on paid apps. Assuming that’s true, how in the world does an app like this make it in? What exactly screening for?

If you want to see it for yourself search iTunes for an app called “I Am Rich” (sorry, the phobos link doesn’t seem to work anymore so I can’t link you directly to it). If you check it out, obviously you’ll want to keep away from the “BUY APP” button or you’ll be very sorry.

Now if you’ll excuse me I’ve got to go turn some of my own lame Photoshop effects into cash.

Comments are closed.