Just another WordPress.com weblog

Microsoft to allow other companies Xbox 360 consoles?

This is one you probably didn’t see coming–I know I didn’t. According to a rumor at EGM, Microsoft is considering allowing other companies to built Xbox 360 consoles.

Huh?

Yep, that means you could potentially see a combo Blu-ray player/Xbox 360 console produced by, say, Samsung, Toshiba, etc.

Microsoft is also said to be considering releasing Xbox 360-compatible drives for PCs.

If this is going to be announced I would expect to see it no sooner than the week before E3 opens on July 15th.

[Via Kotaku]

2 responses

  1. Shovon

    I don’t want to offend you or anything, but I personally doubt this.

    What I’m thinking, is that they’re most likely to allow other companies to create hardware for the Xbox 360.

    But who knows, what you said could possibly be right.

    June 26, 2008 at 4:44 am

  2. Dan

    Yep, I know what you mean–seeing it would surprise me too, but at the same time it could be an interesting move to increase their user base against the PS3 which has been getting some momentum.

    In Japan, Nintendo let Panasonic release a DVD player called ‘Q’ back in late 2001 that was also able to play GameCube games so it wouldn’t be a completely unprecedented move.

    Of course, the Q died in 2003 after poor sales.

    We’ll see, I guess.

    June 26, 2008 at 5:19 am