Just another WordPress.com weblog

BioShock-based movie announced

Take-Two Interactive, publisher of the hit Xbox 360 game BioShock, has announced that a movie based on the game will be made by Universal Pictures and directed by “Pirates of the Caribbean” director Gore Verbinski.

Christoph Hartmann, president of Take-Two’s 2k Games, said that “Gore [Verbinski] is an avid video gamer and true fan of ‘BioShock’. That was extremely important to us in deciding to move forward with this project.”

Writing the movie will likely be John Logan, writer of “Gladiator” and “Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street” who is in talks right now for the gig.

Speaking of BioShock, don’t forget that BioShock 2 should be coming in Q4 of 2009.

[Via Reuters]

2 responses

  1. I hate to always be the pessimist, but I can’t help but think they’re just going to ruin the movie. When was the last time you saw a good video game movie?

    May 10, 2008 at 3:01 am

  2. Dan

    Yeah, I know what you mean. I really enjoyed the game so I have high hopes for the movie…no matter what I’m sure it can’t be worse than the BloodRayne movie. =)

    May 10, 2008 at 4:18 am